The goal of the IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) is to increase the NIH research capacity of the state by programmatic expansion and networking of research activities of faculty and students at academic institutions through the state.

This SC INBRE goal will be achieved by supporting the career development of faculty and hands-on research training of students at network institutions which include the three research universities in South Carolina (Clemson University, University of South Carolina and Medical University of South Carolina) and at ten four-year institutions (Claflin University, Coastal Carolina University, The College of Charleston, Francis Marion University, Furman University in consortium with Converse College, Presbyterian College, South Carolina State University, University of South Carolina Aiken and Winthrop University). Also affiliated with SC INBRE are Anderson University, Benedict College, Lander University and University of South Carolina Beaufort.

Main Strategies of SC INBRE

  1. Provide access to resources for support of research activity at all institutions in SC;
  2. Provide training and resources for preparation of competitive grant proposals; and
  3. Develop competitive grants programs to involve faculty at Mentored and Outreach institutions, and provide a unique opportunity to enhance productive interactions among academic institutions throughout the state and thereby accelerating growth of biomedical research activities in the state.