Steering Committee

The SC INBRE Steering Committee is comprised of the the Principal Investigators from the participating institutions and other administrative leadership. The committee meets every six weeks to evaluate progress and direct performance towards project goals.

Comprehensive Research Institutions:

University of South Carolina (Lead Institution)

Lucia Pirisi-CreekDr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek
SC INBRE Program Director

Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
(803) 216-3419 | Email

edie goldsmithDr. Edie Goldsmith
SC INBRE Program Coordinator
Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy
(803) 216-3809 | Email

homayoun valafarDr. Homayoun Valafar
SC INBRE Bioinformatics Core Director
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
(803) 777-2404 | Email

wayne carverDr. Wayne Carver
SC INBRE Institutional PI
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology and Anatomy
(803) 733-3214 | Email

prakash nagarkattiDr. Prakash Nagarkatti
Vice President for Research
Carolina Distinguished Professor
(803) 777-5458 | Email


Medical University of South Carolina

roger markwaldDr. Roger Markwald
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy
(803) 792-5891 | Email


Clemson University

martine labergeDr. Martine LaBerge
Professor and Chair of Bioengineering
Executive Director, CUBEInC
(864) 656-5557 | Email

Predominantly Undergraduate Institutions:

Claflin University

angela petersDr. Angela Peters
SC INBRE @ Claflin Program Director
Vice Provost of Academic Programs; Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
(803) 535-5447 | Email

Coastal Carolina University

paul richardsonDr. Paul Richardson
SC INBRE @ CCU Program Director
Professor of Biochemistry
Department of Chemistry and Physics 
(843) 349-2598 | Email 

College of Charleston

jim deavorDr. James Deavor
SC INBRE @ CofC Program Director
Associate Dean
School of Sciences & Mathematics
(843) 953-8095 | Email


Converse College

neval erturkDr. Neval Erturk
SC INBRE @ CC Program Director
Professor of Biology and Chair of Biology
Chemistry & Physics Department 
(864) 596-9210 | Email


Francis Marion University

ann stoeckmannDr. Ann M. Stoeckmann
SC INBRE @ FMU Program Director
Department of Biology
(843) 661-1399 | Email


Furman University

john wheelerDr. John Wheeler
SC INBRE @ Furman Program Director

Department of Chemistry
(864) 294-3371 | Email

john kaupDr. John Kaup
SC INBRE-sponsored Research Experiences for Teachers Coordinator
Coordinator of Science Education
Office of Integrative Research in the Sciences
(864) 294-3773 | Email


Presbyterian College

scott asbillDr. Scott Asbill
SC INBRE @ PC Program Director
Chair, Pharmaceutical and Administrative Sciences
Professor of Pharmaceutics
(864) 938-3825 | Email

alfonso romer-sandovalDr. Alfonso Romero-Sandoval
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Director of Research
School of Pharmacy
(864) 938-3833 | Email

South Carolina State University

judith salleyDr. Judith Salley
SC INBRE @ SCSU Program Director
Professor and Chair
Department of Biological Sciences
(803) 536-8876 | Email 

rahina mahtabDr. Rahina Mahtab
Associate Professor
Chemistry Area Program Coordinator
Department of Biological & Physical Sciences
(803) 536-8876 | (803) 516-4536 | Email


University of South Carolina Aiken

bill jacksonDr. Bill Jackson
SC INBRE @ USCA Program Director
Professor and Chair, Immunology
Department of Biology & Geology
(803) 641-3601 | Email

daren timmons

Dr. Daren Timmons 
Professor and Dean
College of Sciences and Engineering
(803) 641-3377 | Email 


University of South Carolina Beaufort

charles keithDr. Charles Keith
Department of Science and Mathematics
(843) 208-8108 | Email


Winthrop University

robin lammiDr. Robin Lammi 
SC INBRE @ Winthrop Program Director
Professor, Chemistry
College of Arts and Sciences
(803) 323-4946 | Email

jay hannaDr. Jay Hanna
Professor, Chemistry
College of Arts and Sciences
(803) 323-4933 | Email


takita sumterDr. Takita Sumter 
Professor, Chemistry
College of Arts and Sciences
(803) 323-4991 | Email 



Non-voting Members:

debra wingardMs. Debra J. Wingard
Senior Sponsored Program Administrator
USC Sponsored Awards Management 
(803) 777-4857 | Email


John ClarksonJohn Clarkson, MPH

Program Manager
(803) 216-3469

Grand PoobahCyndy Buckhaults

Communications Manager